CPLC of the Year Award

The annual Certified in Perinatal Loss Care (CPLC®) of the Year Award presented by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center recognizes the work of perinatal loss care professionals from across the country. 


The award winner receives one application fee for renewal of the CPLC® certification, and a two-year complimentary membership to the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association. The recipient is also presented a plaque at the Annual Assembly of Hospice and Palliative Care.*

Award Nomination Form


  • Members of the HPCC board, Examination Development Committees, and Awards Selection Committee are ineligible
  • Certified in Perinatal Loss Care (CPLC®)


  • Individual personifies excellence in their professional practice
  • Individual has made contributions in at least one of the following areas of care: clinical practice, education, or research
  • Individual provides leadership through mentorship of others in perinatal loss care


  • All nominations are reviewed and the recipient is selected by the Awards Selection Committee of HPCC

Submission Requirements

  • HPCC Awards Nomination Form
  • Document written by nominator of how nominee meets the criteria with further elaboration on his or her qualifications for this award (e.g., relevant employment, involvement in special initiatives related to perinatal loss care) This document should be no more than two (2) pages 8 x 11
  • Two (2) letters of support from others in the field who can provide validation of nominee contribution to perinatal loss care
  • Current curriculum vitae / resume
  • Required materials must be received by July 1 of given year via email (hpcc@gohpcc.org), fax (412-787-9305) or postal mail.

Mail completed materials to:

Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center
Awards Selection Committee
400 Lydia Street, Suite 103
Carnegie, PA  15106

*The recipient of the award is strongly encouraged to receive the award in person based on instructions in the award recipient letter. A monetary stipend has been established to assist with travel costs and related expenses.

CPLC® of the Year Award Winners 

  • 2018 - Richard Pessagno, DNP, CRNP, FT, FAANP, CPLC®
  • 2015 - Jennifer Marie Jonely, RN, MSN, RNC-OB, CPLC®