ACHPN of the Year Award

The annual Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse of the Year Award presented by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center recognizes the work of all hospice and palliative advanced practice nurses from across the country. 


The award winner receives one application fee for renewal of the ACHPN® certification, and a two-year complimentary membership to the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association. The recipient is also presented a plaque at the Annual Assembly of Hospice and Palliative Care.*

Award Nomination Form


  • Members of the HPCC board, Examination Development Committees, and Awards Selection Committee are ineligible
  • Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (ACHPN®)


  • Individual personifies excellence in the professional practice of advanced practice hospice/palliative nursing
  • Individual has made contributions at the advanced practice level in at least one of the following areas of hospice/palliative care: clinical practice, education or research
  • Individual provides leadership through mentorship of others in hospice/palliative care


  • All nominations are reviewed and the recipient is selected by the Awards Selection Committee of HPCC

Submission Requirements

  • HPCC Awards Nomination Form
  • Document written by nominator of how nominee meets the criteria with further elaboration on his or her qualifications for this award (e.g., relevant employment, involvement in special initiatives related to hospice/palliative advance practice nursing care) This document should be no more than two (2) pages 8 x 11
  • Two (2) letters of support from others in the field who can provide validation of nominee contribution to hospice/palliative advanced practice nursing
  • Current curriculum vitae / resume
  • Required materials must be received by July 1 of given year via email (, fax (412-787-9305) or postal mail.

Mail completed materials to:

Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center
Awards Selection Committee
400 Lydia Street, Suite 103
Carnegie, PA  15106

*The recipient of the award is strongly encouraged to receive the award in person based on instructions in the award recipient letter. A monetary stipend has been established to assist with travel costs and related expenses.

ACHPN® of the Year Award Winners 

  • 2020 - Erin Yvonne Perez, DNP, APRN, ANP-C, AGNP-C, ACHPN®
  • 2019 - Erica Frechman, MSN, AGPCNP-BC, ACHPN®
  • 2018 - Deborah Medakovich, MSN OCNS, ACHPN®
  • 2017 - Kimberly Chow, RN ANP-BC, ACHPN®
  • 2016 - Joan G. Carpenter, MN, CRNP, ACHPN®
  • 2015 - Gwen Dodson, RN, MSN, ANP-BC, ACHPN®
  • 2014 - Kerstin McSteen, RN, MS, ACNS-BC, ACHPN®
  • 2013 - Kathryn Lanz, DNP, ANP, GNP, ACHPN®
  • 2012 - Jennifer Gentry, RN, MSN, ANP-BC, FPCN, ACHPN®
  • 2011 - M. Michelle Porthouse, NP-C, ACHPN®
  • 2010 - Niki Koesel, RN, MSN, APN, ACHPN®
  • 2009 - Carol Matthews, CNS, ACHPN®
APN of the Year
  • 2007 - Connie Dahlin, MSN, APRN, BC-PCM
  • 2006 - Maryjo Prince-Paul, MSN, APRN, BC-PCM