HPNF and Project on Death in America 

The Hospice and Palliative Nurses Foundation (HPNF), in accordance with a grant from the Project on Death in America, selects a nurse from nominated candidates who has emerged as a leader in palliative care and whose work has improved nursing care for dying patients and their families.

The focus of the Nursing Leadership Award in Palliative Care is to transform our society’s medical culture and give priority to education, training, and clinical service in end-of-life care issues. By publicizing the activities and efforts of nursing leaders, and their impact on improving end-of-life care, HPNF furthers the mission of Project on Death in America to understand and transform the culture and experience of dying and bereavement.

The award is competitive and one winner is selected from the nomination pool, by the HPNF PDIA Nursing Leadership Award Review Committee, consisting of HPNF Board members and HPNA members. The awardee is announced and recognized at the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine/Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association Annual Assembly. The award includes a $1,000 cash prize and travel-related expenses to attend the Annual Assembly. The award recipient is encouraged to submit an article for publication in a future issue of the Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing. 


  • Be a current HPNA Member.
  • Work in the field of hospice and/or palliative nursing care with his/her compassionate, skilled work and end-of-life care implemented in the healthcare system.
  • Be viewed as someone who promotes and supports improving end-of-life care.
  • Be seen as a leader in the field of hospice and/or palliative care in his/her setting especially in the relief of pain.
  • Promote a better understanding of the experiences of dying and bereavement.
  • Empower caregivers to become agents of change within their own healthcare organization.
  • Have implemented or effected one of the following: 
    • Educational program
    • Training program
    • Research specific to hospice/palliative care
    • Model service delivery program
    • National policy changes

To Apply

  • Submit the PDIA Nursing Leadership Award Nomination Form with essay, supporting documents, and any required attachments as listed on the application by e-mail at info@hpnf.org on or before September 1.
  • Deadline is strictly enforced.
  • The HPNF PDIA Nursing Leadership Award Review Committee takes into account adherence to submission guidelines, completeness of nomination materials and quality of responses when reviewing nominations.sume or CV (two pages or less)

PDIA Application

Project Death in America Scholarship Recipients


Marie Anne Bakitas, DNSc, CRNP, ACHPN®, AOCN, FAAN


Verna Hendricks-Ferguson, PhD, RN, CHPPN®


Kathryn Lanz, DNP, AGPCNP, ACHPN®


Margaret Campbell, PhD, RN, FPCN


JoAnne Auger, RN, CHPPA®


Sheila Grant, RN, BSN, CHPN®


Eileen Roberto, RN, BA, CHPN®


Marianne Matzo, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN


Jan Jahner, BA, BSN, CHPN®


Malene Davis, MSN, MBA, CHPN®