Florence Wald Champions

The HPNF Florence Wald Champions program was established in honor of Florence S. Wald, MN, MS, FAAN. Florence Wald Champions are leaders promoting high quality of life for persons experiencing serious illness through excellence in palliative nursing. These devoted and generous donors ensure that funds are available to nurses and other healthcare professionals for education and research in the advancement of the rapidly growing and increasingly important hospice and palliative nursing specialty while honoring the “mother of hospice and palliative care.”

Florence Wald Champions demonstrate their passionate commitment to quality, end-of-life care by pledging to contribute $10,000 to the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Foundation over the course of a maximum of five years. Florence Wald Champions are special philanthropists, and they are given special recognition by HPNF.

A Florence Wald Champion commitment to HPNF is a significant undertaking. Your commitment begins with a pledge of intent and is followed by a gift agreement. To become a Florence Wald Champion donor, please click the button below to download and submit the Florence Wald Champion pledge form.

Pledge Form

I have been a nurse for nearly 30 years and I've been practicing in hospice for almost 20 years. Through my work with HPNF, I've seen tremendous impact to the practice of hospice nursing and the professional growth of hospice and palliative nurses. This mission is important to me as a nurse and an advocate for compassion and expertise at the end-of-life. When looking at our charitable giving over the past few years, my husband and I agreed that it was more important to both of us to be more thoughtful and specific in giving our dollars to organizations where we had a more realistic understanding of exactly why the dollars are important and who benefits. We believe HPNF has a mission that is easy to align with and outcomes that are critical to healthcare in our country.

Jen Hale, MSN, RN, CHPN

I chose to become a Florence Wald Champion first and foremost because of my deep commitment and connection to HPNA's mission and vision. I still remember when I chose palliative nursing as my specialty over 16 years ago and how eager I was to gain the expertise needed to deliver excellent care. HPNA was the obvious choice for my personal and professional development and I have received so much from being part of the organization. I've gained valuable collegial relationships, access to educational and training resources, the opportunity for professional certification, and the opportunity to support others in their professional development. Having also had the honor to serve on the Board of Directors, I think it is important for me to model the way for others who want to ensure the organization is able to sustain its mission, achieve its vision, and meet the needs of its members. It is a privilege to be able to give back to the organization that has given so much to me. 
Michelle Webb, DNP, RN, BC-CHPCA

Being a Florence Wald Champion allows me to "lift up" other hospice and palliative care nurses. I know my commitment will make it possible for a nurse or nursing assistant to attend a conference, put a dent in their tuition for school, or pay for their HPCC certification exam. 




Ginger Marshall, MSN, ACNP-BC, ACHPN, FPCN

For close to 20 years, nurses have been rated by the public as the most trusted professionals. The year of 2020 and COVID-19 have demonstrated the unequivocal role nurses hold in our healthcare system. I have never been more proud to be a nurse. Hospice and palliative nurses have demonstrated incredible courage throughout this time. I am a Florence Wald Champion because I want to help HPNF in their efforts to support nurses in hospice and palliative care practice, education, leadership, and research.

Joan Carpenter, PhD, CRNP, ACHPN, FPCN

Florence Wald Champions

The Hospice and Palliative Nurses Foundation is proud to recognize the following individuals who are leading through giving a Florence Wald Champion pledge of $10,000 over five years.  

Ginger Marshall (2019, 2022)
Nicole Martin (2022)
Michelle Webb (2022)
Jen Hale (2021)
Margaret L. Campbell (2021)
Marie A. Bakitas (2021)
Joan Carpenter (2021)
JoAnne Reifsnyder (2020)
Anne Hughes (2019)
Katy Lanz (2018)
Denise Stahl (2018, 2013)
Joyce Palmieri (2017)
Betty Ferrell (2016, 2005)
Sally Welsh (2016)
Jeanne Martinez (2015, 2004)
Marge Maisto (2014)
Debra Weigand (2011)
Connie Dahlin (2011)
Joy Buck (2009)
Pam Malloy (2009)
Rose Virani (2009)
Kate Faulkner (2008)
Debra E. Heidrich (2008)
Mary Louise Irvine (2008)
Jane C. Sidwell (2008)
Patricia Berry (2007)
Elizabeth Ford Pitorak (2007)
Bonnie Glod (2006)
Barbara Miller (2006)
Mary Ersek (2005)
Linda Gorman (2005)
Judy Lentz (2004)

For more information, please contact the foundation directly at 412-282-8220 or email [email protected]