One way for hospice and palliative care professionals to recognize our expertise is through certification. This involves a process that validates and evaluates one’s expertise in a specialty area. While licensure assures minimal competency to practice in a field, certification indicates mastery of a defined body of knowledge. 

The Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center (HPCC) offers specialty certification to hospice and palliative nurses, and other members of the interdisciplinary team.  We currently offer five hospice and palliative certification exams for advanced practice nurses, registered nurses, pediatric hospice and palliative nurses, licensed/vocational nurses, and nursing assistants,.  We also maintain the certified hospice and palliative care administrator and the certified in perinatal loss care credentials. Over 14,500 health care professionals hold HPCC credentials that establish a professional commitment to safe, ethical, and evidence-based care. Find out more about our credentials below. 

Why Certification?
Certification FAQs
Scaled Scores FAQs
HPCC Newsletters


reTEST Assured Program

Taking an examination can be stressful, and while the majority of our candidates are successful on the first try, some are not. To relieve a bit of stress, HPCC has implemented the reTEST Assured Program, which offers any candidate who was unsuccessful, the opportunity to retake an exam within the next three test windows for $125. Learn more here or send your questions to [email protected].

Our Credentials

The Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (ACHPN®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative advanced practice registered nurses.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (CHPN®) examination is designed for experienced registered nurses.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Pediatric Nurse (CHPPN®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative pediatric registered nurses.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Nursing Assistant (CHPNA®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative nursing assistants.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Licensed Nurse (CHPLN®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative licensed practical/vocational nurses. 


Maintained Through Recertification

Those currently holding the Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Administrator (CHPCA®) credential can maintain it through recertification.


The Certified in Perinatal Loss Care (CPLC®) examination is designed for professionals in a health care role that provide to those experiencing perinatal loss.


Testing Windows and Deadlines

March 1 - 31

  • December 1 - Application Start Date
  • January 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • February 15 - Online Application Deadline

June 1 - 30

  • March 1 - Application Start Date
  • April 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • May 15 - Online Application Deadline

September 1 - 30

  • June 1 - Application Start Date
  • July 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • August 15 - Online Application Deadline

December 1 - 30

  • September 1 - Application Start Date
  • October 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • November 15 - Online Application Deadline

Each certification examination is administered by appointment only Monday through Friday. Appointment starting times may vary by location. Evening and Saturday appointments may be scheduled based on availability.  Candidates are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. The examination is not offered on holidays during the offered windows (Labor Day, December 24-26, and New Year's Eve). All applications are processed for the corresponding testing windows only.    

HPCC Study Tips

Getting ready to take an HPCC certification examination? This guide provides step-by-step suggestions on how to best prepare. 

Prepare to take an HPCC examination  

Certification Scholarships

These scholarships cover the cost of certification fees for eligible individuals and are valid for those earning a new Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center certification or those who are renewing their current HPCC certification. Individuals can apply for the scholarships before or after taking the exam. The scholarships are competitive and individuals are selected from the applicant pool by the HPNF Awards Committee and approved by The Hospice and Palliative Nurses Foundation board members. 

Learn More


Examination Statistics

Click the button below to view the 2020 and 2021 pass/fail rates for each examination, 2020 and 2021 HPAR recertification results, and the total number of certificants per credential. 

2020 Examination Statistics    2021 Examination Statistics


Certification Verification Tool

This is a free resource created to assist those looking to verify a professional's HPCC certification status. Names of individuals currently certified by HPCC are available through the link below.

Certification Verification