Click here to access COVID-19 updates for HPCC Certification.

One way for hospice and palliative care professionals to recognize our expertise is through certification. This involves a process that validates and evaluates one’s expertise in a specialty area. While licensure assures minimal competency to practice in a field, certification indicates mastery of a defined body of knowledge. 

The Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center (HPCC) offers specialty certification to hospice and palliative nurses, and other members of the interdisciplinary team.  We currently offer five hospice and palliative certification exams for advanced practice nurses, registered nurses, pediatric palliative nurses, nursing assistants, and those dealing with perinatal loss.  We also maintain two other hospice and palliative credentials for licensed practical/vocational nurses and administrators. Over 15,500 health care professionals hold HPCC credentials that establish a professional commitment to safe, ethical, and evidence-based care. Find out more about our credentials below. 

Why Certification?
Certification FAQs
Scaled Scores FAQs
HPCC Newsletters

Our Credentials

The Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (ACHPN®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative advanced practice registered nurses.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (CHPN®) examination is designed for experienced registered nurses.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Pediatric Nurse (CHPPN®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative pediatric registered nurses.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Nursing Assistant (CHPNA®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative nursing assistants.


The Certified in Perinatal Loss Care (CPLC®) examination is designed for professionals in a health care role that provide to those experiencing perinatal loss.


The Certified Hospice and Palliative Licensed Nurse (CHPLN®) examination is designed for experienced hospice and palliative licensed practical/vocational nurses. 


Maintained Through Recertification

Those currently holding the Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Administrator (CHPCA®) credential can maintain it through recertification.



Testing Windows and Deadlines

March 1 - 31

  • December 1 - Application Start Date
  • January 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • February 15 - Online Application Deadline

June 1 - July 31

  • March 1 - Application Start Date
  • April 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • May 31 - Online Application Deadline

September 1 - October 31

  • June 1 - Application Start Date
  • July 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • August 15 - Online Application Deadline

November 1 - December 30

  • September 1 - Application Start Date
  • October 15 - Paper Application Deadline
  • November 15 - Online Application Deadline
Each certification examination is administered by appointment only Monday through Friday. Appointment starting times may vary by location. Evening and Saturday appointments may be scheduled based on availability.  Candidates are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. The examination is not offered on holidays during the offered windows (Labor Day, December 24-26, and New Year's Eve). All applications are processed for the corresponding testing windows only.   

2019 Examination Statistics

Click the button below to view the 2019 pass/fail rates for each examination, 2019 HPAR recertification results, and the total number of certificants per credential. 

2019 Examination Statistics  

Certification Verification Tool

This is a free resource created to assist those looking to verify a professional's HPCC certification status. Names of individuals currently certified by HPCC are available through the link below.

Certification Verification