HPNF Conference Scholarships

The HPNA-Sponsored Conference Scholarship program was established by HPNF to provide financial assistance to nursing professionals for attending HPNA-sponsored conferences, including the Clinical Practice Forum, HPNA sponsored End-of-Life Nursing Education Consortium (ELNEC) events, and the Annual Assembly. These scholarships support nurses who wish to augment their professional development and leadership skills in hospice and palliative care.

Scholarships are awarded to HPNA members to cover the early conference registration fees. Any reimbursement for travel costs will be done after the conference, upon HPNF receiving conference travel related receipts. The reimbursable travel amounts will vary dependent upon which conference attended. The value of the scholarships vary depending on the conference.

Below is a list of conferences where scholarships are available:

  • HPNA Clinical Practice Forum (registration & travel stipend)
  • ACHPN/CHPN certification review courses when offered (registration & travel stipend)
  • HPNA/ELNEC collaborative courses (registration & travel stipend)
  • Annual Assembly (registration)

The scholarships are competitive and winners are selected from the applicant pool by the Conference Scholarship Review Committee consisting of HPNF board members and HPNA members.

To be eligible for the scholarship, candidates must:

  • Hold a current HPNA membership
  • Be involved in palliative nursing
  • Submit a completed HPNA-Sponsored Conference Scholarship Application including all required attachments:
    • Resume or CV (preferably 2 pages or less)
    • Essay, minimum 250 words and maximum two pages, describing:
      • Your experience and interest in hospice and palliative care
      • What you expect to gain from attending your specific conference, and how knowledge from this conference could be applied directly to your practice in palliative nursing
      • One instance where you demonstrated innovation in responding to challenges in practice
  • Submit all materials on or before the deadline specified below
  • HPNF Conference Scholarship Review Committee takes into account your adherence to submission guidelines, completeness of applications, and quality of responses when reviewing applications of the applicant pool
  • If you are awarded a scholarship, you will be sent a Registration Promo Code to register for the event.
  • If you do not receive a scholarship, you will still be able to register for the event at the early bird rate.

Submit HPNA-Sponsored Conference Scholarship Application and all required attachments to HPNF by e-mail at info@hpnf.org.

The following deadlines are strictly enforced.

  • Saturday, January 13, 2018 for the Annual Assembly in Boston, MA

2017 Annual Assembly

Jennifer Ann Arellano, MCHE, BSN, RN, CHPN®
Shelli Feder, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC
Jeanna Ford, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC
Kristi Griffith, MSN, RN, CHPN®
Barbara Mulich, MSN, FNP, ACHPN®
Linda Quinlin, DNP, RN, ACNS, NP-C, ACHPN®
Lori Ruder, MSN, RN, CHPN®

2016 Clinical Practice Forum

Donna Marie Falcone, DNP, MSN, MS, FNP-BC, CRNP
Laura Tycon, CRNP, FNP-BC

2016 HPNA Sponsored ELNEC Courses

Melina Embury, RN, BSN
Dianna Jones, MSN, RN
Meagan Lippe, PhD, MSN, RN
Lauren Ranallo, MSN, RN, AOCNS, CPHON
Julie Thompsons, MSN, FNP-C, ACHPN®
Tamara WIles, RN, BSN

2016 Annual Assembly

Joan “Jody” Chrastek, RN, DNP, CHPN®
Patricia Dziabis, BSN, RN, CHPN®
Amy Corey Haskamp, MSN, RN, PCNS-BC, CPON
Stephanie Kemery, MSN, RN, CMSRN
Kathryn Knill, BSN, RN
Djin Lyn Lai, BSN, RN
Gloria Meek, ANP-BC, ACHPN® OCN
Janice Noort, RN, NP, MS, ACHPN®
Kathy Plakovic, MSN, APRN, ACHPN®

2015 Clinical Practice Forum

Emillie Allego, RN, BSN
Amy Beasley, DNP, RN, CHPN®
Michelle Cooley, RN, MSN, FNP-C
Kathleen Emerson, LPN, CHPLN®
Erica Frechman, MSN, AGPCNP-BC, ACHPN®
Amy Jacobs, RN, CHPN®
Janice Noort, RN, NP, MS, ACHPN®
Susan Paramonte, APN, OCN

2015 Certification Review Courses

Susan Ely, MSN, FNP-BC
Kathryn Rowley Farr, DNP, AGNP-C
Angela Nooner, MBA, MSN, APRN, ACCNS-AG, OCN
Denise O’Connor, RN, MS, OCN
Sandra Oetting, RN-BC, MSN, NP-C, CHPN®

2015 Virtual Conference

Diane Yorke, MBA, MSN, PhD, RN, CPNP, CHPPN®

2015 HPNA Sponsored ELNEC Courses

Amy Beasley, DNP, RN, CHPN®
Linda Duwa, BSN, MSN, ACNP,
Kimberly Edwards, RN
Sejoung Kim, RN, MSN
Djin Lynn Lai, BSN, RN
Ashley Welters, RN, DNP(c)

2015 Annual Assembly

Marsha C. Farrell, BSN RN-BC CHPN®
David C. Free, MS NP-C FNP-BC ACHPN®
Susan Folk, FNP-C ACHPN®
Sandra Bethel Jense, DNP ACNP-BC
Stephanie Simenauer Lynn, RN CHPN®
Mary F. Murray, RN BSN CHPN®
Shreda Paire, MS RN FNP-C ACHPN®
Julie Rudolph, MBA RN CHPN®
Alyson Jean Yost, BSN RN-BC CHPN®

2014 Clinical Practice Forum

Dorothy Guntli, RN, BSN, CHPN®
Sarah P. Recio, RN, BSN, CHPN®
Loretta Scroggs, RN, BSN, CHPN®
Janice Servick, RN, BSN
Paula Turpening, MN

2014 Annual Assembly

James Nicholas Dionne-Odom, MSN, BSN, RN
Nicole Ewerth, RN, BSN, CHPN®
Tracy Fasolino, PhD, FNP, ACHPN®
Deborah Fisher, PhD, CPON
Stephanie Gilbertson-White, PhD, APRN-BC
Carla Jolley, ARNP, MN, AOCN, CHPN®
Holli Martinez, ARNP-BC, ACHPN®
Kay Mueggenburg, PhD, MSN, BSN, RN, CHPN®
Annie Ruth Petteys, FNP-BC, MSN, BSN, RN
Lynn F. Reinke, PhD, ARNP, MSN, BSN, RN

2013 Clinical Practice Forum

Phyllis Deborah Olive, RN, BS, CHPN®
Hilene B. Topper-Bricker, RN, BSN, CHPN®

2013 Annual Assembly

Joan Hanson, RN, BSN, CHPCA®
Michele Landry, RN, BSN, MSN, ANP-BC, APRN, CHPN®
Mary Thelen, RN, BSN, MSN, CCRN, CHPN®
Bonnie Wallace, RN, BSN, MSN, CHPN®
Christine Westphal, BSN, MSN, ACHPN®

2012 Clinical Practice Forum

Becki Fudge, RN, BSN, CHPN®
Nancy Joyner, ACHPN®
Richard W. Smith, RN, CHPN®
Lorie Jan Stoltz, RN, BSN, CHPN®

2012 Annual Assembly

Sheila Marie Berrigen, RN, CHPN®
Jody Chrastek, DNP, CHPN®
Katie Shauna Fitzgerald, BSN, MSN, ACHPN®
Susan Harrison, RN, BS, CNML
Francine C. Hoh, RN, BSN, MSN, PhD, ACHPN®

2011 Clinical Practice Forum

Lela Ruth Cooper, RN, BSN, CHPN®
Lillian Schorr, RN, CHPN®

2011 Annual Assembly

Bronwyn Long
Elizabeth Martinsen
Jane M. Pelosi-Kelly
Nancy D. Roecklin

2010 Clinical Practice Forum

Paula Forest
Lores Vlaminck

2010 Annual Assembly

Cynthia Cooper
Charlene Forcier
Kathy Graham Gadler
Jennifer Kowalkowski
Angela Marky

2009 Clinical Practice Forum

Gina Ritter

2009 Annual Assembly

Debra Bach King
Jan Jahner

Apply for a Scholarship

Conference Scholarships are awarded to HPNA members to provide reimbursement of the early conference registration fee.

Apply Today!

Back to Top